Pauli Murray Book Prize

The African American Intellectual History Society (AAIHS) is pleased to announce the 2021 Pauli Murray Book Prize for the best book in Black intellectual history. Named after lawyer, author, and women’s rights activist-intellectual Pauli Murray, the prize will recognize the best book concerning Black intellectual history (broadly conceived) published between January 1, 2020 and December 31, 2020 by a member of AAIHS. AAIHS board members are not eligible. 

The winner of the 2021 Pauli Murray Book Prize will receive $1,000, a featured week-long roundtable on the book in Black Perspectives, and a featured interview published in Black Perspectives. The prize is open to scholars at all stages of their academic careers. Five finalists will be announced and their books will be featured on Black Perspectives in early March 2021. The award winner will be announced at the 2021 AAIHS Conference, which will be held at Loyola Marymount University in Los Angeles.

One copy of each entry, clearly labeled “2021 Pauli Murray Prize Entry,” must be mailed directly to each of the committee members listed below. Bound page proofs may be used for books to be published after October 1, 2020 and before January 1, 2021. Books may be sent by the author or the publisher. Please note that authors who are not AAIHS members will not be considered for the prize. Membership must be current by October 1, 2020. All submissions must be postmarked to each committee member by October 1, 2020.

2021 Pauli Murray Prize Committee

Dr. Leslie Alexander (Committee Chair)
Department of History
1288 University of Oregon
275 McKenzie Hall
Eugene, OR 97403-1288

Dr. Christopher M. Tinson
Department of African American Studies
Saint Louis University
McGannon Hall
3750 Lindell Blvd., Suite 113
St. Louis, MO 63103

Dr. Ibram X. Kendi
Department of History
American University
4400 Massachusetts Avenue NW
Battelle-Tompkins Building, Room 137
Washington, D.C. 20016-8038

Dr. Russell Rickford
105 Cobb Street
Ithaca, NY 14850


Previous Winners

  • 2020: Keeanga-Yamahtta Taylor
  • 2019: Elizabeth Todd-Breland
  • 2018: Christopher M. Tinson